The basic principles of Ayurveda (The Life-Knowledge)


The quest for longevity has been man′s endeavor since the dawn of mankind and to achieve this, ancient Indian seers formulated certain principles of living under the name Ayurveda. A man wishing to be healthy throughout his life has to be healthy every day as well.

To explain it in a simpler way, the human body can be compared to a house or a car which needs regular maintenance in a disciplined way. If a house is not cleaned for a day or for a number of days, it will start accumulating dust and other waste. If still no step is taken it will start deteriorating and then it will start falling. Just like that a human body needs regular maintenance. It stars getting damaged inside and slowly starts showing the symptoms outside too. So treatment is basically damage control and it takes a toll on our body. Prevention is always better than cure and regular maintenance in a disciplined way is the only key to this.

Also season changes have their own effect on our body. So do′s and don′ts are to be followed every day, every season, and throughout the year. That is how we can lessen the damages.



This is what Ayurveda teaches. So what is Ayurveda?

Ayu means Life and Veda means Knowledge. Ayurveda means knowledge about life. This vast subject includes everything starting from soul, body and matter to practices, therapies and medicine. It is much more than what meets the eye and involves lots of secrets if one is ready to delve into it. However, to make the matter simple let’s just take a look at the basic principles of Ayurveda before venturing into the ocean of knowledge. In Mystic Oasis, we will slowly and steadily deal with all subjects and every nooks and corner of Ayurveda.



Akash (Ether):

Ether means space and the associated sense with it for human beings is sound and sense organ is ear and the perception mode is that one can hear it, but one can’t touch it or smell it.

Vayu (Air):

The associated sense of human being with Air is touch and the sense organ is skin.  Touch can be heard and felt.

Agni (Fire):

The associated sense of human being with Fire is sight and sense organ is eye. Fire can be perceived as seen, touch and can be heard.

 Jal (water):

The associated sense is taste and organ is tongue. It can be seen, tasted, heard and felt.

Prithvi (earth):

The associated sense of human being with earth is smell and organ is nose. It can be seen, heard and felt.



These Maha Panchabhoota or five elements balance the complete health of a human body and mind. Any changes in these lead to complications in overall health. Overall health means healthy mind and healthy body. Ayurveda always emphasizes on the relation between body and mind and the treatment of one always affects the other. So while treating, one has to take both into consideration. However, the relation between body and mind is a vast subject which needs full attention and understanding so we will discuss that in another independent article.

The representation of combination of these five elements in human body are three doshas. They are the three fundamental energies or principles which govern the function of our bodies on the physical and emotional level. They are called Vata, Pitta and Kapha. The three Dosha have subtle positive essences which control the mind and body function. Each dosha is a combination of two elements from Maha Panchabhoota.

Vaata = Vayu+Akash

Pitta = Agni+Jal

Kapha = Prithvi+jal

According to Ayurveda, every human being is a combination of these three doshic energies. On the most fundamental level, pitta is our metabolism, kapha is our structure, and vata is the mobility that brings action and life into creation.

Again Tridosha needs a lot of understanding, so we will discuss all about these in another article.

If you like this post, please hit the like button and leave a comment.


#Ayurveda #life #medicine #health #knowledge #healing #healthybody #soul #mind


One thought on “The basic principles of Ayurveda (The Life-Knowledge)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s